Back to top

Justa Trama

Author: Justa Trama
Published Date: 17 August 2012

Justa Trama is the mark of an ecological chain of cotton solidarity, which involves organized workers, both male and female farmers, spinners, weavers, collectors and processors of seeds and seamstresses. They cover all the links in the cotton chain - from planting to clothing. Besides the principle of preservation of the environment, Justa Trama also operates with the direct production of cooperatives and therefore without the middleman, adding value to every link with gains of 50% to 100% above the market, allowing for a fair distribution of income. So when buying clothes Justa Trama are contributing to the consolidation of a model of sustainable development and solidarity.

How does Justa Trama work?

The cotton- Cultivated in 9 municipalities with its headquarters in Tauá, in the state of Ceará. The families of farmers organized in ADEC, plant and collect ecological cotton by employing soil and water conservation techniques, thus developing the biodiversity without using toxic products. This plantation extends to the town of Moreira Sales in the state of Paraná.

The threads and the fabrics- in Pará de Minas, in the state of Minas Gerais, where Coopertextil co-operative manufactures the threads and the fabric of Justa Trama, in such a careful way so as to avoid contaminating the traditional cotton.

Clothing- This stage occurs in 3 states in Brazil: in Coopstilus in Saint André, São Paulo, which makes children’s clothing; in Itajaí, Santa Catarina, where Fio Nobre makes artisanal clothing and finally in Univens at Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, where the clothes are mass-produced.

The seeds- Men and women of co-operative Açaí in Porto Velho - Rondônia, collect the seeds found in the Amazonian region, and then transform them into buttons, collars and other accessories which accompany the clothes of Justa Trama.

There are in total more than 700 associates involved in agricultural activities, spinning, weaving, confecting and crafting in 6 States of the federation: Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina, São Paulo, Minas Gerais, Rondônia and Ceará, thus dispersed in four different areas of Brazil.